Manuell unstoppable at Hampton Downs

Paul Manuell continued his winning ways in this year’s RYCO 24 7 V8 Utes Championship with a dominant win in the first race of the second round at Hampton Downs Motorsport Park today.

The championship leader in the Superfreight Holden was helped in his quest for victory when championship rival and second row starter Glen Collinson stalled on the line and rejoined at the back of the field. The reality, however, was that neither Matthew Spratt nor Andrew Porter had the pace in their FG Falcons to match the speed of the experienced former NZV8 champion.

Manuell slammed in a series of super-fast laps in the early stages of the race and left the pack trailing in his Superfreight Holden. Porter had the pace to hold off Spratt too and the champion made a mistake on the final corner mid-race which dropped him into the clutches of debutant Matt Griffin, holding down a solid fourth place ahead of Peter Ward and James Parker.

The main interest in the race was the progress of Collinson after his disastrous start. And he gave race fans plenty to shout about as he scythed his way back into the top ten within the space of three laps. He carried on through the field to eventually come home

seventh. He had been catching James Parker at two seconds a lap, but in the end ran out of time to make any more of an impression in his Panorama Motorsport car.

Sunday morning will feature a reverse top ten race where Collinson will start ahead of championship rivals. On the pole position for that one, however, will be the tenth place finisher today, Stuart Monteith.

RYCO 24 7 V8 Utes Round 2 Hampton Downs Race 1

1. Paul Manuell – Holden Commodore
2. Andrew Porter – Ford Falcon FG
3. Matt Spratt – Ford Falcon FG
4. Matt Griffin – Holden Commodore
5. Peter Ward – Holden Commodore
6. James Parker – Holden Commodore
7. Glen Collinson – Ford Falcon FG
8. Liam Porter – Ford Falcon BF
9. Simon Ussher – Ford Falcon FG
10. Stuart Monteith – Holden Commodore
11. Brent Main – Ford Falcon BF
12. David Lowe – Ford Falcon BF
13. Roger Nees – Ford Falcon BF
14. Paul Fougere – Holden Commodore
15. Greg Kroef – Holden Commodore

Categories: RYCO 24.7 Racing News.