Spratt charges through to Race 2 victory in Feilding

Matt ‘Stinger’ Spratt has charged through the field to take victory in the second race of the NZ V8 Utes Series at Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon. Spratt started his Primogrow Ford from eighth on the in the reverse top ten grid and made his way through the pack with clinical precision to take the lead and win.

Peter ‘Kaos’ Ward came home in second with his Ward Demolition Holden after holding the lead for the majority of the race, only to be displaced by Spratt after a close and exciting battle. Glenn ‘Coyote’ Collinson rounded out the podium in his DNA Paints Ford after a solid performance that keeps him in the chase for the championship.

Alexandra ‘Skippy’ Whitley was in the thick of it again in her LDV Vans Holden, fighting door-to-door with Brett ‘The Scud’ Rudd and eventual race winner Spratt. Whitley finished in fourth place ahead of Andrew ‘Hireman Porter’ in fifth, both sporting war wounds from a classic V8 Utes encounter.

Rudd would bring his LOSCAM Pallet Supplies Holden home in sixth ahead of Geoff ‘SOS’ Spencer in his Coresteel Buildings Holden – the local putting in a great recovery drive after being nerfed off the track at the first corner.

Jeff Kernohan and Simon Ussher crossed the line side-by-side after a thrilling battle for eighth and ninth while David Lowe was just behind them to finish tenth.

Stu Monteith was the last of the running cars, ending the race 11th.

Saturday winner Paul ‘Auto’ Manuell was in the hunt but struck mechanical dramas on the penultimate lap, leaving him stranded on the inside of turn one and unable to finish the race. ‘Dirty’ Dave Kernohan also failed to finish after crashing out of the lead at the hairpin on the opening lap.


Race 2 – NZ V8 Utes Round 3 Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon


1.         Matt Spratt - Primogrow Ford

2.         Peter Ward - Ward Demolition Holden

3.         Glen Collinson - DNA Paints Ford

4.         Alexandra Whitley - LDV Vans Holden

5.         Andrew Porter - Portergroup Holden

6.         Brett Rudd - LOSCAM Pallet Supplies Holden

7.         Geoff Spencer - Coresteel Buildings Holden

8.         Jeff Kernohan – KCH Ford

9.         Simon Usher - United Freight Ford

10.       David Lowe - Ryco 82C Ford

11.       Stu Monteith - Holden


DNF:    Paul Manuell - SuperFreight Holden

DNF:    Dave Kernohan – KCH Ford