Round winner Collinson holds off Spratt in race long battle

Glen ‘Coyote’ Collinson has taken his second win of the weekend at Pukekohe Park Raceway for round two of the NZ V8 Ute Series – and took his first ever round win in the category in the process.

Collinson took advantage of his pole position start, getting the jump on Paul ‘Auto’ Manuell and leading him through the first few corners.

It wasn’t all plain sailing at the start though, race two winner Alexandra Whitley failed to get away from the line and half stalled. Dave ‘Dirty’ Kernohan who only just pulled up his Kernohan Contractors car behind her and both were able to pluck first gear and set off after the pack without a scratch.

Collinson quickly established himself as the benchmark for the race on a slippery track, leading the first lap. As the race progressed, however, he came under increasing attack from those behind, particularly by Matt ‘Stinger’ Spratt in the Primogrow Ford.  Manuell and Peter ‘Kaos’ Ward, were always in contention too though.

While Collinson and Spratt were clearly the two to beat, Rudd, Manuell and Ward moved within striking distance of the leading duo in different parts of the race.

Collinson, under immense pressure from Spratt, didn’t falter the entire race, leading every lap and eventually taking the win. Spratt finished a fighting second ahead of another tight pack. Ward would come home fourth after an aggressive move on Manuell at the hairpin on the final lap.

Porter brought his Commodore home in fifth after a dynamic battle with Brett ‘The Scud’ Rudd who finished sixth while Whitley drove back through to seventh after her mishap off the line to finish ahead of Jeff Kernohan, Simon Ussher and Dave Kernohan. Geoff ‘SOS’ Spencer came home 11th with David Lowe completing the field in 12th.



  1. Glen Collinson - DNA Ford Falcon
  2. Matt Spratt - Primogrow Ford Falcon
  3. Paul Manuell - SuperFreight Holden
  4. Peter Ward - Ward Demolition Holden
  5. Andrew Porter - PorterGroup Holden
  6. Brett Rudd - Pallet Supplies Holden
  7. Alexandra Whitley - LDV Holden
  8. Jeff Kernohan - KCH Ford Falcon
  9. Simon Ussher - United Freight Ford Falcon
  10. Dave Kernohan - KCH Ford Falcon
  11. Geoff Spencer - Coresteel Holden
  12. David Lowe - 82C Ford Falcon