Manuell takes convincing win in opening race

Paul ‘Auto’ Manuell has taken the opening race of the NZ V8 Ute Series at Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon.

Manuell took his SuperFreight Commodore to a lights-to-flag victory over Andrew ‘Hireman’ Porter in his Holden by just under three-seconds.

Matt ‘Stinger’ Spratt came home in third place in the Primogrow Ford  after briefly challenging Porter for second position in the middle of the race. Fourth place went to Glen ‘Coyote’ Collinson and his DNA Falcon after a lonely race for the former series leader.

Geoff ‘SOS’ Spencer in the Coresteel Holden lead an intense battle pack that included Alexandra ‘Skippy’ Whitley in the LDV Vans Holden, Peter ‘Kaos’ Ward in the Ward Demolition Holden and Brett ‘The Scud’ Rudd in another Holden, the Pallet Supplies LOSCAM car. The four traded blows for the back half of the race to decide fifth position. Despite a fierce attempt by ‘Kaos’ Ward to displace Whitley, and plenty of give and take between the two, Whitley held her own and even made an attack on Spencer ahead.

Circuit expert Spencer held on to fifth by just 0.980s over Whitley with Ward and Rudd finishing seventh and eighth respectively.

‘Dirty’ Dave Kernohan recorded a ninth-place finish ahead of son, Jeff. The father-son duo battled it out in an intriguing scrap to decide once again who had bragging rights at the Kernohan dinner table.

Simon ‘’ Usher narrowly missed out on top ten, crossing the line just 0.168s behind Jeff while David ‘Shaggy’ Lowe in the Ryco 82C Ford and series debutant Stu ‘Monty’ Monteith in his Holden rounded out the field.


Race 1 – NZ V8 Utes Round 3 Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon


1.         Paul Manuell - SuperFreight Holden

2.         Andrew Porter - Portergroup Holden

3.         Matt Spratt - Primogrow Ford

3.         Glen Collinson - DNA Paints Ford

4.         Geoff Spencer - Coresteel Buildings Holden

5.         Alexandra Whitley - LDV Vans Holden

6.         Peter Ward - Ward Demolition Holden

7.         Brett Rudd - LOSCAM Pallet Supplies Holden

8.         Dave Kernohan – KCH Ford

9.         Jeff Kernohan – KCH Ford

10.       Simon Usher - United Freight Ford

11.       David Lowe - Ryco 82C Ford

12.       Stu Monteith - Holden