Charging Whitley steals historic race win on the last lap

Alexandra Whitley charged through the reverse top ten grid to win the second race of the weekend for round two of the NZ V8 Utes Series and put her name in the history books as the series’ first female race winner.

Dave ‘Dirty’ Kernohan took the early lead from pole, followed by Geoff ‘SOS’ Spencer through the first turn. Before long Brett ‘The Scud’ Rudd made a decisive move down the inside of Spencer at the hairpin on the second lap just moments before Andrew ‘Hireman’ Porter rotated at the same corner.

Kernohan surrendered the lead to Peter ‘Kaos’ Ward on lap three when he had a massive ‘tank-slapper’ out of the hairpin. Ward was followed through by Matt ‘Stinger’ Spratt behind him.

Once the race had settled in, those drivers who started from the back of the grid started to make their way back through to the front. Leading the charge was Whitley, moving from fifth through to the leading pack halfway through the 12 lap thriller.  Also on the move were Paul ‘Auto’ Manuell and Glen ‘Coyote’ Collinson. The pair fought for position fiercely exchanging paint and positions multiple times.

With just three laps remaining Whitley made her intentions clear, latching on the leading pair and challenging for position at every opportunity. While Ward held the lead for the majority of the battle, all three cars were running side-by-side down both straights and looking for ways past one another.

On the final lap, Whitley made the race winning move out of turn three after getting a superb exit from the corner. Both Alexandra and Spratt were passed by the hairpin and the LDV Vans Holden racer held on to become the first woman to win a race in the series’ 12 year history.

The battle for fourth between Manuell and Collinson was as intense as ever as Manuell pulled an aggressive move on Collinson at the hairpin, but it was not enough as Collinson would hang on to fourth.

Rudd crossed the line sixth while Dave Kernohan recovered to seventh after his huge moment early in the race. Spencer was shuffled down to eighth after engaging in some great battles with multiple drivers throughout the race.

Simon Ussher and Jeff Kernohan rounded out the top ten with David Lowe finishing 11th and Andrew Porter 12th after his spin.


Race 2 Result

  1. Alexandra Whitley - LDV Holden
  2. Matt Spratt - Primogrow Ford Falcon
  3. Peter Ward - Ward Demolition Holden
  4. Glen Collinson - DNA Ford Falcon
  5. Paul Manuell - Superfreight Holden
  6. Brett Rudd - Pallet Supplies Holden
  7. Dave Kernohan - KCH Ford Falcon
  8. Geoff Spencer - Coresteel Holden
  9. Simon Ussher - United Freight Ford Falcon
  10. Jeff Kernohan - KCH Ford Falcon
  11. David Lowe - 82C Ford Falcon
  12. Andrew Porter - PorterGroup Holden